Tanning?

("Don't call it calories, call it food") #1

Is tanning (at a tanning place, not outside) really that dangerous? Never done it but debating it before a wedding…

(Scott) #2

I could turn this around and ask “is it all that healthy?”

I guess you could do it for an event and be okay but the general view of a healthy tan is falling out of favor. It is also worth noting that it can age the skin.

(Eric - The patient needs to be patient!) #3

@Rclause

Being outside (not tanning bed) and getting some exposure seems to impart more benefits that risks.
According to Dr. Paul Mason

(Christy) #4

As does alcohol. We all get to pick our poison.

@elastoplastic I tan year round. Preferably in natural sunlight but, it is limited here in Seattle so I use tanning beds about twice a week during the doom & gloom.

There are different level beds, different UVA/UVB outputs … I am not a doctor but, can hardly see any long term ill effects of tanning a time or 2 to prepare for an outing.

(Scott) #5

I just question the indoor tanning for the most part. Outside I tend to cover my bald head with a hat but allow some sun to hit me. I don’t go to sun block unless I plan on spending enough time out to get a serious burn. It is likely a fine line between healthy and too much. Several melanomas in my family so I lean toward being a bit cautious about the sun exposure.

(Robert C) #6

The danger is not from a single group of say 5 to 7 exposures (incrementally increasing) before a wedding.

The danger is going, hearing how healthy/great you look and then making it a habit.