Supplements to improve strength training

(Jeff Ryan) #1

Hi Guys,

I’m new to the keto diet and have been on the keto diet for 2 months now. I have maintained my strength but recently lost the pump I normally feel this week as I forgot to put sodium and also ran out of multi vitamins.

What is a good supplement to take and what food should I be eating more of?

I have recently purchased MCT oil, chicken broth and Endura electrolytes. I have noticed since taking those supplements i got my pump back on.

(Tom Seest) #2

I would recommend you post this question over in the “Ketogenic Athlete” Facebook group, which is hosted by Danny Vega and Brian Williamson. It is the public forum for their related podcast.

Danny Vega is a huge lifter, and experiments with Nutrition, and can probably give you pretty good guidance.

You can find that group here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/theketogenicathlete/

Best wishes with your Keto and lifting journeys…

(Abraham Reyes) #3

I use creatine fishoil lcarnatine tartate caffeine - check out Ketogains fb group for our supplement recommendations

(Jeff Ryan) #4

Thanks mate

(Alex Dipego) #5

The pump is a normal response from the sodium itself and good water intake. Strength training doesn’t necessarily bring a pump. The muscle fibers being worked are different and resting periods as well as energy needs vary.

Honestly I never get pumped from strength training. The moment I start hitting 6+ reps then I’ll see a pump.

To supplement strength training varies. L-Carnatine was a huge help in fat metabolism for energy. A simple fat bomb though does the trick for me in my coffee.

(Dave) #6

I use creatine and a pre workout which is mainly caffeine and put a scope of dextrose in as well 10 minutes before working out… Magnesium, Fish Oil and Curcumin at night

(Jeff Ryan) #7

How is your performance when you don’t use dextrose?

(Dave) #8