Study about high fat diet and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease

(Yas) #1

Hi everyone,
I just came across this study, claiming that a high fat diet contributes to nonalcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD) and insulin resistance. I am kind of new to keto and it all sounds very complicated and scary. Does anyone have more information about this but easier to understand?
Thanks.

Ref: Acute dietary fat intake initiates alterations in energy metabolism and insulin resistance
http://www.jci.org/articles/view/89444#top

(AnnaLeeThal) #2

I think that this would need to be looked at specifically in the setting of a Ketogenic or LCHF diet. Many people here have reversed their fatty liver disease using Keto.

This is not a study that adequately tests high fat diet. It’s actually a high carb with high fat diet. It is quite obvious if someone eats high fat and high carb, they can damage their liver, and other parts of the body. What would happen to you if you ate cake, ice cream and milkshakes everyday? No need for a study to tell me that’s a bad idea!

Here’s an excerpt of the study:

“Animals had ad libitum access to water and a standard chow diet.”

Yeah, so for instance, the mice had access ad libidum to standard chow…and then they introduced high fat, to see what happens.

I’m not impressed. Glad my tax money didn’t fund thus study. Too bad the European people got robbed of their taxes to fund this.

(Yas) #4

I did not think about the high carb part.
I think there should be a page/wiki, which lists the questions to ask oneself when reading a news article or a study, e.g., how large is the test group? do the people in the group represent normal people? how long is the study? who is financing it? is it high carb + high fat? etc.
It would help people weed out bad articles/studies quickly.