Struggling with carbs after holidays and a stomach virus

(Clara Teixeira) #1

Anyone else? It seems I just cannot stop sneaking completely non-keto carby snacks. Apples with peanut butter, fries, and popcorn specifically. I did fairly well over the holidays with just a few small bites of things that were not keto. But that triggered something in me that I can’t seem to stop. Terrible cravings for the above mentioned foods. Last weekend I had some kind of awful gastro-intestinal bug that made me feel very sick for 5 days. I ate maybe 3 meals in that time and just felt awful. Craved an apple with peanut butter so had one and suddenly felt much better. Now I feel like I am on a downward spiral toward the sugar roller-coaster again.
How do you shake this funk off? I have been doing this keto thing for 21 months. I should be a pro by now. :sob: I do it to prevent migraines and it has worked amazingly well. I am terrified of getting migraines again… but then there’s apples… I need a kick in the pants clearly.

(Carl Keller) #2

What did you do when you first started keto and had to battle cravings? I ate pork rinds or a few almonds or a boiled egg or two to put the cravings to rest. ANY keto friendly snack is better than french fries.

You’ve beat the cravings once. I know you can do it again. :slight_smile:

(Clara Teixeira) #3

I honestly don’t remember what I did. I remember there being lots of coffee involved and I felt awful for 3 weeks until I became adapted. :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Bacon and eggs!

I’m with Carl on the pork rinds – go with the regular or original flavor, avoid the MSG-laden flavored varieties. I also keep a jar of pecans (sweet tasting but only one carb per ounce) as a last resort, so that if I ever really can’t help myself, I eat a bunch of those instead of going off the program.

(Clara Teixeira) #5