Starting tomorrow...hold my hand 😂

Hi, everyone, newbie here. Looking for advice, please. My fridge is stocked with yummy meats, cheeses and veggies to start my Keto journey tomorrow morning. My main concern is while I don’t have much of a ‘sweet tooth’, my love of Doritos and other cheesy, crunchy, salty snacks is my true vice. Any advice on what snacks to have on hand to help when those cravings sneak through?? Thank you!!

(John) #2

I suggest getting away from the snacking habit as soon as you can. Though for me that took several weeks.

I used things like canned sardines, the little individually wax-coated mini-Babybel cheeses, and nuts portioned out into separate plastic bags. Hard boiled eggs are good, as are pickles (non-sugar added) and olives (in moderation).

For some ideas, this is a good web site:

(Ellen) #3

Pork scratchings (pork rinds in US), you can make cheese crisps, but try to avoid snacking if possible.

(Amanda) #4

I agree with this, but it can be easier said than done in the beginning. It may also depend on how frequent you’re snacking now.

To beat the cheese/chip addiction you could try Whisps. They are super cheesy, crunchy and made with just parmesan. Or just have a piece of strong cheese. :smile: I love pecans with a healthy layer of powdered Himalayan Pink salt on them from time to time, just make sure you measure them out because they can add to your carb count for the day quite quickly!

For the most part, avoid snacking, but if it is between a choice between some pecans or Cheetos, go for the Keto snack! (Bacon is always an option too!)

(In Rochester NY USA, lovin life) #5

Dill pickles! they have lots of salt and I think calcium

(*Tame Those Ghrelin Gremlins) #6

Welcome! As stated in earlier posts avoid snacking if possible and if you know snacks like that are a weakness avoidance is best.