So far-so good! Newbie! Need UK groceries idea

food

(Nalde ) #1

Hi!
I am new in keto.
I have discovered that lemon juice has very little carbs.
So I drizzle a bit in my full fat cream to satisfy my cravings for puddings and it helps… But what else I could drizzle?
Any sweet sauces with low carb?
Thank you

I would use only 1 tablespoon

(Allie) #2

You’ll likely get lots of responses advising you to resist the cravings and beat the sugar addiction properly…

Have you tried a mix of cinnamon, 100% cacao powder and salt? I put it sometimes in full fat yogourt. It’s creamy and it is somewhat sweet even if there is no sweetener (the salt brings out the flavors!)
Of course, it might be better to abstain totally from “desserts”, but it’s still better than the pudding :slight_smile:

(Rebecca 🌸 Frankenfluffy) #4

I have pudding most nights - I switch between sugar-free jelly, a small portion of natural full-fat yoghurt, Frankenfluff or lemon cheesecake mousse (lemons, cream cheese, cream, Splenda). Being brought up in a household - nay, a country :uk: - where pudding was a part of daily life - I have to say I’ve continued the habit as a keto T1 diabetic.

Many, many people avoid sweeteners. I don’t. I use Splenda to sweeten homemade puddings. Hartley’s sugar-free jelly contains Nutrasweet. Although I have a rule never to DRINK Nutrasweet (it makes me drink to excess - like GALLONS - I have no off-switch for the stuff) I don’t mind it in a (measured) portion of jelly now and again!

If I’m having just whipped cream for pudding I generally don’t sweeten it. But it’s lovely with some cocoa mixed in. I add Splenda to yoghurt.

(To clarify the above - what I’m calling ‘pudding’ in British English (apart from a few exceptions like Yorkshire pudding or steak and kidney pudding) is what is called ‘dessert’ in US English.)

dont forget vanilla extract!!!

(Marianne) #6