Running on fat

Hi all
Newbie here. Just to introduce myself. Been keto since beginning of the year and am training for multiple marathons in April. I think I’m probably fat adapted as I have just done an 18 mile run fasted. I’m assuming that as I seriously upped my running at the same time as starting keto that I fat adapted fairly quickly. I’m still wondering what to do about fuelling for the event but for the moment I’m just enjoying the ride.
I have read loads of the threads on this website and would like to say thanks for all the helpful info. Non low carbers don’t really understand this running lark without stuffing your face full of carbs:grinning:

(Full Metal KETO AF) #2

Multiple Marathons! Try here for like minded keto people.

https://www.ketogenicforums.com/search?context=topic&context_id=76940&q=Marathon%20&skip_context=true

(Robert C) #3

The two things I have heard (Dr. Bubb’s podcast) about this situation:

1. You only might need to add the carbs if you are in a competitive (professionally competitive) situation. If you are just in it to finish or looking for PRs but are below competition levels (where they can take advantage of the carbs in a short window - a bit over 2 hour finish instead of 4 or 5 hours) then using carbs probably won’t help.
  2. If you do go the carb route you should include it in your training. For several weekends before the race, treat a long run as a race and add carbs. Experiment to get the performance you want. The point is to just avoid throwing a bunch of carbs down just pre-race as it can lead to pacing problems and maybe even stomach upset.

(Carl Keller) #4

Hello and welcome Amanda.

https://www.ketogenicforums.com/search?q=marathon

The top thread talks about what @Screenack ate, how he performed and how he felt afterward. You might find it useful.