Real Newbie Here...With Non-Keto Spouse

(Val Bundy) #1

So I’ve been reading about keto for about a month…listening to podcasts and stalking around forums like this to get a feel for this new way of eating.

My hubby grilled steak tonight and I ate the fat. :open_mouth: I have always felt guilty for wanting to eat the fat…sometimes I would even “sneak” a piece when nobody was looking…:rofl: and tonight I ate it! I just ate it…and it was glorious…hahaha

Now my hubby is worried about me because he knows nothing about Keto…I have been kind of talking to him about it but every time I bring it up he says things like Atkins is bad for you…high cholesterol…I can’t really blame him…I’ve done every “fad diet” under the sun…and I’ve done low carb, high protein before and I lost weight but I’ve put it back on…so i’m sure he just thinks this is the same…

either way…how could you not love keto? I ate steak fat for dinner…lol…all joking aside does anyone else have a spouse that is not keto?

(shawn) #2

I do! I’ve been keto for over a year, lost 45 lbs, my ADHD symptoms are under control, my husband still worries. He’s supportive, but he’s seen me lose and gain weight on diets, for so long, I wouldn’t trust my judgment either if I were him. He loves what I cook, but he adds bread to it, and eats awful when he’s on a trip. Fasting worries him the most, so he doesn’t know that I usually skip breakfast and lunch, and, since he’s a pilot, I do my extended fasts when he’s out of town. I don’t lie, but I don’t tell him when I’m fasting either. I have dreams of getting him to eat this way, too! It would be so good for his back pain and mood.

(Jodi) #3

My husband will never try keto, he doesn’t even really try to understand it. Lol. He just lets me do what I think is best, occasionally he will ask a question or challenge me on something. :blush:

(Val Bundy) #4