Ready to give up - please help if you’ve been keto for awhile

(Kelly Steiger) #1

Sept 2nd update:
Still no change I’m afraid. Tried lots of different things and made all the suggested changes. It appears my body doesn’t like keto, but glad I gave it a go. Thanks again for your responses and help, really appreciate it.

Hello friends!
I’m on the verge of throwing up my little bacon filled hands!

Here’s the scoop:
On keto since June 4, 2018. Other than maybe the second week, I have felt awful and it’s gotten much worse in the last week. I went from working 5 days a week to 2 days because some days I can’t get off the couch. I’m exhausted, dizzy, lightheaded and feel like a zombie all the time. By the end of my work day I’m slurring my words and have no energy to even feed myself. Thank god for my wife. I’m a registered massage therapist. The last few days I’ve had symptoms of transient hypoglycemia. Quite severe unfortunately. I’m missing work and my life actually because my symptoms have only gotten worse as every week passes. I have recently had IV hydration, mag and pot just to make sure it’s not elec imbalance.
The only explanation that seems to resonate is transient hypoglycemia. I have been a hard core sugar user since I was 2. It seems possible that I have finally burned through all of my glucose and glycogen stores, my body is resisting the transition to burning fat full time, and I’m not giving it its beloved fuel. There is a full on revolt in progress.

Two schools of thought - bring in some more carbs, ween your self back down gently.
Stick to it, even if you lose all of your patience and the bank takes your house because you are almost there!! (I have held on to this every week for the last 8 weeks) I am sick and exhausted all the time. I don’t think I can do it.

Watching for hidden carbs
Paying attention to electrolytes like a maniac
Magnesium and potassium on board
Keeping keto sweeteners to a bare min
Eating lots of fat - good quality