Quarantine Helped Me Restart & Stick to Keto

(Kathleen Lupole) #1

I am not really a newbie but consider myself one since I have not stuck to my keto plan. I was weak and could not stick to my food plan for more than a few days, sometimes hours! I blamed other people I ate with. Like my boyfriend or my neighbors in my building when they would have potluck dinners in our community room once a month. Then I had such an addiction to ice cream. I had just about given up. Then this quarantine happened. I stayed in my apartment and didn’t have to go anywhere else to eat. My boyfriend would take me to store but I cooked and ate alone. What a difference it made! I watched almost every keto Youtube channel I could find. I use Fitday to track my food.

I am not a youngster so wasn’t sure how well I could do this time. I use a mobility chair when I am outside or a rolling walker in my apartment and when I go shopping. So I couldn’t really do much exercise except walking with the walker. Now as the quarantine is lifting, I am planning on joining the YMCA so I can swim for exercise. I tried to use a recumbent bike but my knees are not able to handle that. Swimming will help me I am sure.

I started this on June 1st and have stuck to it. Since then, I have eaten with my boyfriend but would not eat anything not on keto. One thing he did the other day was to bring me a big bag of York peppermint patties because he knows I love them. I do. But I would not take them and when we went to his house he found them in his car and asked me why I put them there. I told him I do not want them in my apartment and he knew better. He did. I guess now he sees I am serious. We went to eat with his family last week and I ordered a cheese omelet and bacon and turned out his cousin was eating keto too. I love it and I feel great. I know I will be successful this time.