Protein Intake? I'm confusion

protein

(Nicolas) #1

Ok, I’m kind of new to the Ketogenic diet (In practice) in theory I read and watched a lot of youtube videos (Dr Berg) but Im kind of confused about my protein intake.

Im gonna clarify a few things:

Im 178 cm height (5’8) I weight 110Kg (242 lbs)

So I heard you usually want to eat 1.2 Gr/ Kg of Body Weight of protein.

That means I have to eat: 132 Grams of Protein.

Now at this point we all know 1 Gr of protein is not equal to 1 Gr of whatever meat/food, so I decided to grab the two meats I eat on my diet.

(Chicken Breast)
https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/fdc-app.html#/food-details/836138/nutrients
21.43Gr Prot per 100Gr Meat

(Beef)
https://fdc.nal.usda.gov/fdc-app.html#/food-details/841722/nutrients
16.36Gr Prot per 100Gr Meat

I’m eating 1700Kcal daily, that means 20% of that should be protein right? (340 Kcal / 4 Kcal (1Gr Of Protein) = 85Gr

So it seems 132Gr (Recommended) is not equal to the percentages of the diet (20% Protein)

But here comes the weird stuff for you people, how much meat is 132 vs 85?
I eat half Chicken, Half Red Meat so:

WITH 132Gr Protein:
Red Meat:
If 16.36gr/Prot — 100gr Beef Then (132 / 2 = 66)
66gr/Prot — 403gr Beef (That I need to eat)

Chicken:
If 21.43gr/Prot — 100gr Ch. Breast Then (132 / 2 = 66)
66gr/Prot — 308gr Ch. Breast (That I need to eat)

Total Meat: 711 Gr of Meat.

WITH 85Gr Protein
If 16.36gr/Prot — 100gr Beef Then (85 / 2 = 42.5)
42.5gr/Prot — 260gr Beef (That I need to eat)

Chicken:
If 21.43gr/Prot — 100gr Ch. Breast Then (85 / 2 = 42.5)
42.5gr/Prot — 198gr Ch. Breast (That I need to eat)

Total Meat: 458 Gr of Meat.

Which one makes sense? If I eat less that the recommended (132) Would I get less nitrogen to support my muscles? I think Im gonna catabolize muscle (Maybe).

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

Where does the number 1700 calories come from?

(Nicolas) #3