Progress check-in: Does this make sense?

I’m mindful of Richard Feynman’s dictum: “The first principle is that you must not fool yourself - and you are the easiest person to fool.” I’m relatively new to keto and would like to put out there some data and the conclusions that I’ve drawn. I’d really appreciate feedback about whether my conclusions seem to be on target.

Data

1. 2/5/2019 - I had purchased a glucometer and…
    Morning fasting blood sugar = 145.8 mg/dL
    Ketones = 0

2. I started a ketogenic diet the same day.

3. 2/6/2019 - Weight: 263.0 lbs

4. 2/23/2019 - Screening done at Quest:
    Total Cholesterol = 221
    HDL = 20
    Total / HDL = 11

5. 4/2/2019 - Physician ordered lab work:
    A1C = 5.4
    Total Cholesterol = 226
    HDL = 24
    Total / HDL = 9

6. 4/4/2019
    Morning fasting blood sugar = 86.4 mg/dL
    Ketones = 2.7 mmol/L
    Weight = 239.6 lbs

Conclusions

1. Based on my initial fasting blood sugar, I’m likely Type 2 diabetic.
  2. The ketone level in Data #6 is pretty regular for me now. I’m in ketosis.
  3. Based on my A1C, the 2 months of keto have controlled my blood sugar well.
  4. The fact that my A1C is near the upper limit of normal suggests that I was in a diabetic range for the first month prior to achieving control with keto.
  5. My lipid panel is showing signs of improvement. HDL number is better and the Total/HDL ratio (which is an indicator of heart attack risk) is improved.
  6. My doctor may be concerned about the lipid panel but I should Keep Calm and Keto On.

I would very much appreciate any feedback. Did I miss anything? Is anything incorrect?

I am no expert and your blood glucose numbers in the US are measured differently to ours in Oz…but it looks to me like you have an excellent grasp of where you are at and where you are headed and are very well on the way to recovering your metabolic health, congratulations.

Thank you! :smiley:

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #4