Problem with cooking by recipes

I’m a pretty much newbie when it comes to cooking
When I try to cook by certain recipes, Sometimes I don’t have enough pounds of meat
Or the dish turns out too spicy for me
How do you like adjust recipe and stil make it taste pretty awesome?, Or you don’t do that at all?
I ■■■■■■ up so many times, the dishes are so bland…
(Sorry if my english is bad)

Generally I either add more meat the next time if there wasn’t enough meat the first time, or less spice the next time if there was too much spice the first time. In other words, try, learn, adjust, enjoy.

I have experience so I know what should be nice for me… But if it’s something new and I have no idea, I use a tiny fragment of everything so it won’t be a big loss…

(Nowadays I don’t even really use recipes but sometimes I still feel the pull… I usually make my own recipes from scratch though as that is waaaaaay easier. Keto recipes are full with stuff I wouldn’t use anyway… Not like I have problem to left out half of the ingredients and stuff but I needed my several years of frequent experimenting to be able to do it. And there is a risk it won’t be great just edible…)

If you don’t like very spicy things, use spices carefully. And if the food is good otherwise, next time just lower the spice amount? Taste while cooking…

How come you don’t have enough meat? Don’t do recipes you don’t have the ingredients for unless you know what you are doing. Or make only half.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

If there’s a recipe you’d like to try, go through it and make sure you have all the ingredients. Then buy whatever you lack when you go out shopping. This takes planning ahead, however.