Problem with aspartame

newbies

(George) #1

Im new to Keto. 2 months ago I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes after having a blood sugar of 440 during a checkup. I am an over the road truck driver and have lots of time to listen to audiobooks and podcasts. I found the 2 Keto Dudes podcast and started down the Keto road. I had a lot of great benefits with in the first month, more energy, better vision, less joint pain, and better focus. I was also able to stop taking the metformin. However, I struggled to get into ketosis. I consistently measured between .2 and .4. I was getting a little frustrated. I was cutting all carbs but green vegetables. Then I listened to the podcast on sweeteners again and decided to test them. I fasted for 24 hrs and tested my blood sugar it was at 82. I then drank the sugar free tea I have been drinking daily that was sweetened with aspartame. I tested my blood every 30 minutes for 2 hours. The first test showed my blood sugar jumping to 127 and gradually decreased over the next 2 hours. I have since tested sucralose and had no spike in my blood sugar. I’m now in ketosis after cutting out the aspartame.
Thanks 2 Keto Dudes!

Congrats dude, after you go a while reintroduce it and see if it goes back… control test. Be amazed how many things that happens with, then after a while it doesn’t. Whether it’s the fat loss or just re/desensitizing I don’t know.

Hopefully you have a fridge and an APU and can do a lot of your own stuff, if so makes life a lot easier, but even it you don’t the truck stops are way easier to eat at now than they used to be if you’re not packing a couple days of meal prep. Those cups full of meats and cheeses, eggs, usually a lot of jerky etc. Not so much real “meals”, but good as hell! Damn even with things like Quest and Pure Protein bars we even get some junk food snacks out of it when that’s what we’re feeling.

(Laurie) #3

Hi George. Nice detective work!