Podcast #119 - Nina Interview - Question about Carl's stall

(Willie) #1

Hello,

I’ve been listening to this amazing podcast for a few months now. Thanks so much for existing. This was another great episode. Nina seems like the kind of person you want on your side. She is fabulous. Will definitely be researching her new organization more.

My question is about Carl. Towards the end of the podcast I think I heard him mention that he has been stalled on the Keto diet/lifestyle for, I believe, something like 18 months?

And then they talked about theories for this and how Richard has a theory on why and I was curious what that might be. I couldn’t find it on the forums with a quick search but doesn’t mean it’s not here.

But mostly I was kind of shocked at that length of the plateau. Am I understanding this correctly that Carl has been eating keto without loosing weight for a year plus? And he still has weight to loose? Forgive me, but I for some reason as a new listener assumed both Carl and Richard had hit their targets.

That’s a tremendous amount of time and I don’t think I’d have the fortitude to keep going if that happened to me. I’m 47, male, 5’8", was 306 lbs and down to 245 since November. Which is great and I’m very happy. But my body seems to be having a SERIOUS debate between 245-250 lbs. It REALLY wants to stay here. I’d like it to continue down from 245 to about 180. I’ve been on this plateau for 6 weeks and it feels like forever. But now I feel lucky that it’s ONLY been six weeks.

Are there any episodes focusing and detailing on the specifics of Richard and Carl’s keto journey? Episodes dedicated to each? If not, I think that could make a great topic for a future cast. A sort of state of the union on each of their ketogenic evolutions from beginning to now.

Thanks,
-Willie

(Rob) #2

This is the thread and significant additional discussion about Carl breaking his plateau…