Paleo, Surgery, Stall, and now Keto

(Tim Rayburn) #1

Greetings all, I’m new here to the Ketogenic Forums, having learned about it from the 2 Keto Dudes podcast. I’m a professional software developer (I’ve known Carl for several years via .NET Rocks and as a fellow Microsoft MVP) but my wife and I just started on Keto on August 21st, 2017. As a rough history, I’ve always been wildly overweight, but in June of 2013 my weight reached the point of causing me to be unable to stand during the technical presentations I would give in the developer community, and that was the last straw for me. So my journey began.

• As I set on the journey 7/31/2013 I weighed in at 615 lbs
  • Encouraged by several people around me I began a 90lbs in 90days challenge:
    • 2 hours per day at the gym
    • Eating a Paleo diet
  • By the end of 2013 I was down to 515 lbs.
  • I then was able to pursue bariatric surgery, I had a Gastric Sleeve done in Feb of 2014.
    • But my diet also went to the “recommended” carb centric pre and post surgery plan my physician prescribed, because after all I was on Paleo and surely the dieticians and doctors new better than the “eat like a caveman” crowd.
  • Over the next year, I lost nearly another 100 lbs, moving me to 423 lbs.
  • But then three things happened:
    • I became less regimented about eating only 3 times per day because I was feeling hungry
    • Even when I was good, my body fought me tooth and nails going below 423.
    • My lymphedema in my legs got out of control, swelling from just above the ankle to the knee
  • So I stalled, and was mostly happy that my fitness and cardio had returned enough I could live my sedentary lifestyle.
  • But I still wanted to reach my goal weight of “any weight that starts with a 2” aka 299 lbs. So my wife and I decided in August of 2017 after years of stalled weight loss to get back on some low carb diet, and this time chose Keto for a variety of reasons.
  • On August 21, 2017 I weighed in at 450.8