Osteoporosis and constipation

(Tracy-lee fisher) #1

Hi
I am new to the Keto diet as only started 9 days ago.
I have a couple of questions - since starting I have been constipated. Is this common and are there any suggests. Also I am 53 years old and am aware my mother has osteoporosis. It has always been promoted to eat lots of diary to help prevent this so am concerned removing diary could affect this - any comments or suggestions would be helpful.

(Donna ) #2

Cure constipation: Get a magnesium supplement. Take one capsule at bedtime. If you donā€™t go in the morning, take two the next night. Proceed in this way, adding a pill each night until you are going to the bathroom regularly in the morning. If you accidentally reach the ā€˜whoa, Nelly!!! stageā€™, back down one pill ā€“ and thatā€™s your dosage.
In this way, you have identified your personal dose of magnesium supplement to take every night before bed. Magnesium is GOOD for you, so you can feel good about it and you will always be regular.

(Tracy-lee fisher) #3

Thank you for your suggestion. I will get me some magnesium supplements today as I think I am fit to burst soon :slight_smile:

Tracy-lee, be sure to pick either magnesium malate, glycinate, or citrate (all are in a tablet form). Avoid mag oxide, the one most often sold in markets, as it will create the exact opposite problem on a daily basis. The three aforementioned ones are available on amazon. :slight_smile: Up to 400mg per day will fix you up. Also consider adding extra sodium (table salt will do) and potassium (via the ā€œNo Saltā€ product) to your daily regimen.

(Donna ) #5

Yes, good advice by @April

My perfect personal nightly dose is 160 mg magnesium malate.

(Tracy-lee fisher) #6

thank you

(KCKO, KCFO) #7