Old newbie with a twist

(Jessica) #1

I’m not really a newbie, but I’m posting here as one, as my situation has definitely changed. I’ll reintroduce myself.

I’m Jessica. I was down to about 180 or so on keto, then COVID. I know that’s a common “excuse.” My husband, a VA nurse of 16 years, with 10 years of ICU experience, got detailed to the COVID unit for a year. That year rivals the hardest year of our marriage: the year my son was born with spina bifida. I honestly feared for his life due to his mental health during that time. He was allowed to go back “home” in April and has a new job within the VA that’s better than anything we could have hoped for.
During 2020, We both ballooned with our weight, attempting to find comfort in a really, really uncomfortable time.

I’m ready to get back on the wagon, but with an added difficulty. I’ve been allergic to beef for 10+ years. A couple of weeks ago, I had my first reaction to pork. I’m now attempting to avoid all mammalian meat in the hopes that I’ll be able to add it back a little at a time later in life. This really sucks, because I was trending toward carnivore before this happened. In fact, it was a night of really great, tasty, fatty country pork ribs that caused the latest reaction. I angrily told my hubby that I guessed I was on the chicken diet now. We live in rural Arkansas, so our options for alternatives are limited.

So, hey yall! I’m really going to try to stay involved, because the more involved I am, the better I stick to my plan. Bonus is that my dad has now lost 35lbs on a carnivore diet and is not longer seeking out surgery for his knee. My father in law, however, has gone from “low carb” to “low fat” and has been excited about all the sugary things that he can now have.

(Laurie) #2

Hi Jessica. I have some food restrictions too, and can’t eat the “real” carnivore food like steaks and so on. So I want to support you in making this work for you in whatever way you can.