Okay, one problem with Sous Vide

(Dirty Lazy Keto'er, Sucralose freak ;)) #1

By now, anybody who has seen my posts, might gather that I have become a Souse Vide everything freak ! I freaking love that I can make any kind of meats, even cheaper tougher cuts, super tender and juicy !

But I am starting to recognize one issue… Because nothing during the prep ever gets very hot, by the time it gets to the plate, it’s only warm, at best. Hmmm. Would this be a problem for you guys ? Is their anything you do to rectify this ? Would a short, careful burst of microwaves be enough ? My big concern is that since it’s already perfectly cooked, I don’t want to do anything to cook it any more than it already is…

Your thoughts ?

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

I’m very new to this, and quite honestly your persistent posts prompted me to try it. :crazy_face:

For my introductory testing I’ve been using this as my sous vide cooker. The lowest setting is 175° F and that leaves the meat hot enough for me while eating. Not sizzling, but hot enough. So maybe you could just increase your cooking temp a bit for the last 30 minutes. I don’t recommend microwaving meat because in my experience it tends to rubberize it. Although, a short 30 second ‘burst’ might be OK. Meat seems to heat very quickly when microwaved.

(Bob M) #3

If you sear the meat, you’ll get it hotter. Some people also use a “gravy” (made from the juices of the sous vide’s bags), heating the gravy, and using that to heat the meat.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #4

What a great idea!

(Failed) #5

The whole point of sous vide is NOT to get the food hotter than you want it. If you increase the internal temperature, it won’t be perfectly cooked any more.