Newbie looking for advice on Test Strips

Hi All!
I am new to Keto and excited to continue but I cant help but be discouraged. I have been testing my ketones with the pee strips and ever since I started it has not changed any color. I know a lot of people are saying to just throw them out but I am a visual person and like to see progress by measuring. What am I doing wrong? I definitely feel better, my clothes are looser as well as a lack of appetite and frequent urination. I also exercise 5 out of 7 days. Ive been tracking my food on an app- 139 g of fat, 106g protein and 25g carbs. Any advice would be awesome!
Thanks!

(Robert C) #2

Hi Newbie,

A few points I’d like to make here:

• Frequent urination due to drinking too much water will make urine strips pretty useless - if you want color, slow down on the water - if you want any real accuracy, get a blood ketone monitor
  • If you are doing so well on keto - your strips may be bad (also, they have a short shelf life - a few months after opening)
  • Both blood and urine ketone measurements are measuring what you over produce but under use. You could just be a person that - very early in keto - just creates what you need, I think this is rare through. Also, I think blood is more accurate because the ketones still have to get to your brain - so measuring 0.0 in the blood would definitely mean you’re not producing ketones - 0.5 is accepted as minimum for ketosis so maybe that is the smallest amount a person producing and using ketones will have in their blood.
  • Better visual aids are before and after pictures and tape measurements (stomach, legs, arms, chest - everything).

(Allie) #3

Best advice is to throw them away and don’t waste any more money buying more. Judge by your results.

(Turtle Dove) #4