Newbie here

Hello from north jersey. I am just getting started and in day 17. I lost about 5 lbs. my fat/protein/carbs are 80/15/5 my pee sticks are still reading moderate and I feel as though I am hydrated. I have lost about 5 lbs. problem is, I don’t think I’m adapted yet based on slow weight loss and keto stick color. Thoughts tips are greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Scott

(Allan Misner) #2

Depending on your personal situation, it can take a while to adapt (particularly the first time). Stay the course!

(Sierra) #3

Hello and welcome. I am about a month into this WOE so don’t have much advise to give but I wanted to just throw in a little something.

For me, I noticed myself feeling less tired, being naturally happier and sleeping WAY better before I noticed anything on the scale! This way of eating is amazing and even though I do obsess over the scale, don’t get too hung up on it. My weight might go up a pound one day then the next day be 1.5 pounds down.

(Elizabeth Mitchell) #4

Ketostix color can vary depending on many factors–your water intake, your food intake, your energy expenditure. Really, all they show is that you have ketones present in your urine. That means you have unused ketones being excreted by your body. Eventually, your body is going to get more efficient at using them and you won’t have a large volume excreted, so those stix aren’t going to show much color. You have more reliable methods of judging your level of fat burning: namely, your energy levels, sugar cravings, a metallic taste in the mouth… there are many more markers that you can probably google quicker than I can dig out of my brain. And you can also get blood test strips for ketones, similar to the glucose strips that diabetics use. THOSE are a much more accurate method of judging your level of ketosis, as they measure serum ketones–the level that are actually in circulation to be used. The optimal fat loss range is 1.5 – 3 mmol/L.