Newbie here and keto

keto
newbies
fasting

(Sg) #1

:raised_hand_with_fingers_splayed:Hi, everyone!

So, as the tittle says: I’m a newbie, not only here on this (what it looks like to be an) amazing community forum but to the Keto diet as well. Today is my very first day on keto. I remember I started my weight loss journey 1.5 year ago at 154lb (Female, 5’4, 26yo, it was like a roller-coaster but here I am, I made it) Now my current weight is 120lb, I reached this goal by working out (like, really cardio, cardio, cardio, Pilates) eating a caloric deficit and with the help of myfitnesspal app. I came from what they call the “zone diet” compared to keto, oh yes! lots of carbs.

Why am I getting into this new eating life style? well…

1 - I’m tired of looking 8 pounds heavier because of the WATER RETENTION (very easy and common on me)…I guess it’s due to all the carbs?

2 - I LOVE CHEESE and NUTS and I know I can eat cheese and nuts on Keto more freely!

3- I want to reach to the weight of 117 pounds + burn that extra annoying fat that refuse to go away.

4- So many years of carbs, carbs, carbs, and restricted fat…I WANT TO EAT FAT!

5- Inflammation, even tho I’m a lean person I tend to suffer from inflammation (and as I said water retention. Sometimes my face looks like I’m 160 pounds, puffy. Now it’s looking leaner because I just recently completed a 3 days HARD dry fast and that helped A LOT, I went from 122 to 118 in 3 days and now I’m on 120.

I’ve read a lot of articles and watched lots of videos about this way of eating before jumping into keto, and here I AM!..but I still being a newbie, I have lots of doubts and questions. Love if you could help me and I hope to learn as much as I can to help others too.

Thanks for reading me, I’m very excited to be part of this community.

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #2

Welcome. :grinning: Keep researching and ask any specific questions you have.

(Lazy, Dirty Keto 😝) #3

Welcome to the forum and to Keto! :grin: