New to Keto while using Zoloft

(Jake Boyer) #1

Hi All!!

I am new to the Keto way of life about 5 weeks in now. I am a 34 yr. old Male and have lost about 17 lbs. since I started and I feel absolutely amazing. I was at 195 lbs. when I started. I am about 5' 11" with a skinny build so i was a little over weight. I have noticed some interesting things while on Keto and was wondering if anyone had seen or reviewed any research on SSRI's while on Keto?
  I have been taking a low dose of 50mg per day for the past 2 years. I had noticed that the effects had started to fade a couple months before I started Keto. Then, about day 3 it seemed like I was taking them for the first time. From what I have read, carbohydrates have an effect on serotonin levels in a positive way but I am confused since i have been keeping my carbs below 10g a day that the Zoloft is actually having a bigger effect or is it the ketones in combination with the Zoloft? Just thought I would put it out there to see if anyone knew a bit more on this subject. 
 Prior to starting Keto I was a pretty big drinker as well. I at least had a couple every night if not more. The urge to drink has completely gone away not just because of the calories and carbs but I just haven't wanted to. I have had probably 3 drinks in the past 4 weeks which is a huge difference. Is this common also? Any input and thoughts is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

(Sarah Bruhn) #2

Hi,
Keto is a well known neurological therapy most notably for Epilepsy. Many people find that mood and mental health are improved on keto (myself included) and it makes perfect sense, no peaks and troughs associated with blood glucose levels and ketones are theraputic for the nervous system.