New to Keto, need protein intake help

(Alex) #1

Hi everyone. I am new to Keto (apparently been doing it wrong for 3 weeks!).
So I started following Dr. Berg on Youtube. I love his content, but he doesn’t give examples as photos or videos of plate sizes. So I had been eating for 3 weeks wayyyyy above what I found out today is my suggested caloric intake. There are things that I don’t understand, actually many things, but one is, how the heck am I suppose to survive on 100 grams of steak per day. That is a tiny amount!
I have cut out all glucose, it’s been 3 weeks now, and have drastically increased my fat and protein intake, and although eating 3 steaks a day, with about 4 eggs, broccoli, tomatoes and cheddar cheese, I still managed to lose some weight, I’ve lost 2 KG in 3 weeks, which is not what I expected, I wanted to lose more weight.
How do you all survive by eating 100-150 grams of meat a day??
Thank you!

(Omar) #2

When I am not fasting I eat much more than 150 grams

100 gram will stick between my teeth

Where this 150 gram came from?

(Eric) #3

That would likely be 100-150grams of protein, not meat. Protein is roughly 25% of your meat’s total weight on average. For example I just had 336 grams of steak for lunch (cronometer has that as roughly 100g protein) and will likely have more protein for my second meal

(Alex) #4

Ohh. How can I calculate the protein?

(Eric) #5

I use cronometer and enter the cut of meat and weight and it will provide you with the grams of protein. I am sure you can also Google it and enter the weight and type of meat and get totals that way as well.

(Alex) #6

Thanks! I got the 100 grams from Dr. Bergs’ videos

(Alex) #7

I just found out I have exhausted my daily protein intake and I’m trying to keep carbs as close to 0 as possible. What can I have for dinner? Should I just eat the grass fed butter, If so, how many grams? Or just an avocado?
Thanks!

(Allie) #8