New to keto, looking for some advice, and literature

(William B) #1

Hi all. I am new to keto, started about 12 days ago.
About me: 42 yes old, male. 5’8. Starting weight 283.6, current weight 272.6.

Daily restriction to 20g carbs or less. And 1500 kcals or less.

I have been eating on average 3 times per day. My main concern is that my unsupplemented ketone levels have been running 6 to 8 mmol across the day, and most of my reading says it should be closer to 5 for safety. I have a deadline to be at or below 250 lbs by December 15th of this year, so 22.6 lbs to lose in 2 months. (To be within acceptable bmi for surgery on my shoulder for a torn rotor cuff. )

I want to make sure I am doing this in the healthiest way possible, knowing as well that the rate of loss is a little higher than the accepted 1 to 2 lbs a week.

I want to ensure that I am being mindful of other impacts I may be having on my health as well in the process.

I would love to get some thoughts from the community on the goals, the best and safest way to ensure I am on track but also what do I do about the relatively high ketone levels I am experiencing, and if I should be concerned.

Thanks.

(Robin) #2

@william_B Welcome to the forum. Thanks for the good intro with information. My gut reaction is you are probably restricting your calories too much! Your body will eventually start holding onto weight if it can’t maintain. Try starting with sufficient calories to maintain where you are now, maybe a smidge less.

If you are like many of us, your weight has gone up and down over the years. And that will sabotage your progress now unless you eat enough.

(William B) #3