New here

(Richard Shawn Bennett) #1

I justed wanted to introduce myself my name is Rich and I am 51 and I have finally come to grips with the fact I have a addiction to carbs and I am so happy i found this group. On my 3rd day and this morning I woke to a horrible headache or I should say it woke me up. Better now. I have never done keto before so not sure if it was protein reduction.

(David) #2

hi, I’m on day 3 myself. I noticed I had a bit of a headache yesterday, but I think that it was because I was seeing how long I could go before wanting breakfast. I drank some more water, and had a rasher of salty streaky bacon with some cream cheese on it, and I was fine afterwards.

I’m learning to listen to my body, and using the numbers to guide me it’s interesting seeing what I’ve kinda been ignoring before and just eating out of habit, routine, and just because something sugary or carby was there.

(Richard Shawn Bennett) #3

I knew there would a be a transition phase besides headache today doing pretty good

For me, headaches are almost always from not having enough sodium, so I drink salted-water or salted-water with apple cider vinegar regularly and get those headaches when I’m too busy for the extra salt.

Others recommend bouillon or bone broth, but the MSG in most bouillon gives me headaches, although I do make my own bone broth on occasion and really enjoy it when I do.

The transition from glucose burning to fat burning shows up as massive headaches and low levels of energy, within the first week of transition…in my experience.

I guess we are not hybrid cars, that can switch energy source in seconds :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

(Zach) #6

Sounds like carb withdrawal to me. You can try to supplement sodium, potassium and magnesium. I like to use lite-salt on avocado to boost potassium.

(David K) #7

Headaches during the beginning are usually an electrolyte imbalance, go get some.

(Richard Shawn Bennett) #8