New here lots of questions

(Liz Santiago) #1

Hello everyone! I am new to keto and I feel so lost. I started Jan 4, 21 and as of today I have lost 19 pounds. I am 49 yrs with a starting weight of 295. I have try to read and research all i can to be able to follow Keto. I had checking my ketones with strips but yesterday I bought a blood meter cause I notice that in the morning I would get .05 to 1.5 in urine and nothing in the evening so I thought that maybe the strips were not good. The thing is that with the blood is the same thing. Yesterday, I used the blood meter in the afternoon and it gave me a 0 . Today, in the morning I got .07 so I don’t know if I am actually in ketosis. I have been eating just breakfast and lunch and nothing else aside from black coffee and water. Does anyone know why I am not getting any ketones in the evening and just a low reading in the morning?

I don’t know anything about ketone meters or why they are necessary. I just wanted to congratulate you on your weight loss so far. Almost 20 lbs in two months is impressive. Way to go!

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #3

Regardless of what the meter or the strips say, if you are eating under 20 g/day of carbohydrate and are still breathing in and out, you are in ketosis. Ketone readings go up and down throughout the day.

I think you are fine, but if you want us to look over your food, and so forth, feel free to post it, and we’ll tell you if we see room for improvement. We’ll also want to know age, sex, height, and stuff like that, too, if you feel comfortable sharing that stuff.

(Mg ) #4

Every single person I personally know who has started, has felt exactly like you.

Best advise, don’t stop!
Congratulations on that weight loss. That is absolutely INCREDIBLE!

(Tracy) #5