N=1 Why am I stalled/gaining on Keto

(melinda) #1

Hello all,

I previously posted about my consideration of weight loss surgery, and my husband asked me to please try other things first. So, I am going to document my attempt to get to the bottom of why I’ve been stalled or gained since January and also the cost of testing these things. Weight loss surgery would run me about $5,000.

My lowest recorded weight was 203 in early January 2017, but I hadn’t lost significant weight since October 2016. My weight this morning (June 27 2017) was 213. My starting weight July 2016 was 241.

I have already had my thyroid tested through requestatest.com and the results came back good. (Cost $49)

I plan on getting more testing done soon, but I’m waiting until I get another paycheck for that.

I have also just ordered a blood glucose meter so I can check my blood sugar around different foods. I may need some help with this as I’ve never used one or tested blood sugar before!

Meter, lancets, test strips, & alcohol wipes: Cost: $36.32

Total Cost so Far: $85.32

(jilliangordona) #2

Just sending good vibes your way! I also have not lost much weight in keto, although I am not too far from a “healthy weight” (whatever that means). I understand what you are feeling and hoping you can get to the bottom of this :heart:

(Deb) #3

Check out some of my replies to similar posts…I had to lower fat and protein intake and now lose daily. If you eat too much fat, your body has no need to use what is on your hips! Protein raises insulin. Forget the meter.

I don’t know if someone suggested this on another thread or I just imagined it because I was thinking it: as long as WLS costs that much, is it worth paying someone first (probably a fraction of $5000) to guide you in keto? I don’t remember for sure but doesn’t IDM have a new person (Dr Nadia?) who coaches folks who are not in Canada?