Metformin and Keto?

(LeaV) #1

I was diagnosed diabetic earlier this year, and was put on Metformin every other day. My doctor says I’m the weird “grey area” between being pre-diabetic and fully diabetic. They think I can reverse the diabetes with adequate diet changes and exercise. My question is, is the ketogenic diet safe to do while on Metformin? I’m worried about my levels ending up too low, the last time I made a drastic/sudden change in my diet I almost passed out about 6 hours in. So, has anyone here had success with this? If so how did you manage the diet changes? Is there a way to work yourself into the keto diet? Please and thank you :slight_smile:

(Polly) #2

Welcome to the forum.

As a medicated diabetic/ almost diabetic person you should be making dietary changes with medical supervision. Your doctor is obviously encouraging you to make some changes for the sake of your health, surely they are the best person to advise you on this.

I have no personal experience of diabetes, but have heard that people are able to reduce their metformin dose.

(Hyperbole- best thing in the universe!) #3

I’ve heard many people say they stay on metformin while keto, but any medication you need to watch carefully. Especially if you are taking insulin, you need to communicate well with your doctor.

I wish you well on your keto journey!

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #4

(bulkbiker) #5

I had a really bad reaction to metformin so gave it up after 3 weeks of hell and with a combination of Intermittent fasting and ultra low carb eating put T2 into remission. Metformin doesn’t do a great deal anyway so there shouldn’t be a problem with you stopping it.

Your body, your choice.