Maintenance Strategies?

I am new to maintenance. Glad to be here; but thinking about the long term. I’m curious to hear about some “Maintainer” strategies. Do people focus on a certain weight, and try to push hard to stay right there? If so does it get easier over time- (Maybe it becomes more natural and requires less attention)? Do some people allow for a weight range; and allow themselves to fluctuate within that range? If so how does one determine an appropriate range?

Thanks

Weight Maintenance- Introduce yourself!
August 2022 Maintenance
(Karen) #2

This is a great question! I am no where near goal weight but I have been wondering what happens when I get there. How does keto work when you have less body fat??

K

(Troy) #3

Yes. Great question!
I’m just enjoying all the other benefits of Keto as well

Anxious to hear what others have to say about your question

(Ken) #4

Maintenance is easy. It’s all about understanding how to prevent lipogenic readaptation. Lipogenic readaptation requires the refilling of glycogen stores. You can easily prevent this by avoiding chronic Carb intake, such as setting a daily amount of carbs, which always seem to creep upwards.

The strategy I have used for years is that whenever I eat carbs, for whatever duration, I go double the time afterwards without them. If I have a heavy Carb meal, I skip them for two more. If it’s a day, then no carbs for a couple of days. Even if I eat carbs for a week, after three or four days of not eating them my glycogen depletes and I’m back to normal.

Eating carbs does cause swings in water weight. It’s really nothing to worry about, and can flux up and down quite a bit.

(John B) #5