Konjac

(Felicity ) #1

So I found these today, made from a vege called Konjac. Anyone had this? Are they ok to have on keto?

(Robert C) #2

I am no expert on this stuff but I wouldn’t use it. Konjac is a root vegetable that is basically all fiber. Safe enough if you go and eat Konjac. But, according to your picture, these noodles are made out of Konjac flour. So, they have heavily processed an originally healthy substance into a powder and then reconstituted it. Does it still work in the body as fiber? Or it is so broken down that it is essentially the same as white flour? Probably the numbers are too low to cause you a problem in terms of keto but, if you are trying to stay real-whole-food also, may not be best.

(Felicity ) #3

Thanks, I just thought it might be a quick meal I can have in the pantry for those nights I get home late. Throw on some butter and cream cheese and chives and be done with it. Definitely wouldn’t consume them on a regular basis, I usually make zucchini noodles or cauliflour rice, some days though, I’m not prepared and like everyone, some days I just can’t be stuffed cooking.

(Scott) #4

For most people konjac is perfectly fine. It’s also known as shirataki noodles. It’s a form of fiber that the human body can’t digest. Of course, there is individual variability among all of us, so it’s possible that some people might not react well to it, but most people shouldn’t have any problems. The “Dudes” aren’t afraid to use it in many of their recipes. I have it periodically with no negative impact to my ketones. They’re a little chewier than what you might have been used to and that is a put off to some people.

(Felicity ) #5

Thank you.

(Scott) #6