Keto Round 2; Wish me luck!

I was 6’ 1" and 158 lbs when I graduated high school. I’m now 53 years old and ~240 lbs. My goal is <200 lbs.

I first got introduced to keto as The Atkins Diet in 1998, while working on an out-of-town assignment in Vancouver (e.g. 3 restaurant meals/day, 4 days/week, all reimbursed!). I went from 212 to 195 in 3 weeks, and lost >20 lbs total over a few months. It was easy because 4 of us were competing to see who could lose the most weight, and we were eating our meals together and comparing notes daily.

25 years later, and here I am again. None of my friends or family will do keto with me, so I’m here!

I started one week ago, and I’m down only ~2 - 3 lbs, but I’ve been in continuous ketosis since Day 3. I monitor every time I pee, and I have never not measured some level of ketones.

I’ve been diligent about keeping my carbs below 22 g a day, although there have been a few question-mark meals, such as a plate of gyro meat and tzatziki at Chicken Maison. I’ve seen gyro meat listed as anywhere from 0 to 7 g of carbs per serving, and I had 14 oz. that meal. But I have never dropped out of ketosis.

Wish me luck!

(Alec) #2

Good luck, and I hope you go well… 3lbs in a week is just fine!

Some advice (if you want it):

1. Don’t worry about “being in ketosis”, that’s not the point. The point is to burn fat.
  2. Keep carbs as low as possible, not just below 22g. The stricter you are the easier it will be to lose weight.
  3. Exercise is not required on keto, but IMHO is so good for you in general is worth adding to your new regime if you can.
  4. Don’t get hung up on macros in general, just prioritise eating fatty meat and eggs, keep everything else to a minimum.

Best wishes and good luck!

(Geoffrey) #3