Keto for 3 months - no change in glucose

(Christina) #1

Hi - I’m new here! :wave:. I love the podcast and have been listening for a couple of months (I’m only 3 months into keto). I have been dancing around in the pre-diabetic A1c range for almost 20 years (once was diagnosed “diabetic” as my fasting # was 130 - - super stressful morning that day) I have been hyper controlling of my diet, hence my simply hovering in the pre-diabetic range around the same A1c for all these years. I have followed a low (processed) carb (meaning no bread, chips, tortillas, pasta) diet for about 14 years and during that time I’ve been varying levels of vegan - vegetarian. For 3 years I did a raw vegan diet and did no labs, but lost 15 lbs. That diet is too hard to maintain! My vegetarian diet included rice, high protein pasta occasionally, lots of vegetables, fish, eggs and alternate protein sources. I was ALWAYS hungry! ALWAYS!

I am 5’4" and I think of my standard weight (reasonable lean weight with average muscle) as 105 because I am extremely small boned and hence much less of my weight is from bone than the average 5’4" person. I am currently 120 - and have weighed this for over 4 years. I carry a large roll of belly fat and also extra fat everywhere else, especially my thighs.