Keto and college

(sarah) #1

hey everyone! I am 21 and I weigh roughly 105 pounds. I have been trying keto for close to a year now. My keto journey has many ups and downs. One thing I am struggle with is how to stay keto when you are away from home. Which why I am writing this post. I am in my first semester of college and away from home. How do you survive college and stay keto? Especially when you discover you are stress eater, lack self-control in most situations and trying to dealing to with depression/homesickness. Any suggestion would be helpful!

(Michelle) #2

I haven’t personally followed Keto while in college, but I can offer my advice. Congratulations on your first year of college!
First of all I would try to be prepared. Have Keto snacks portioned out in your dorm. Macadamia nuts, string cheese (if you have a fridge), hard boiled eggs ( those are available pre-cooked at grocery stores)
Are you eating cafeteria food or preparing your own food? Plan ahead. Know what you’re going to eat before you enter so you aren’t tempted to go off Your plan.

If it doesn’t work out 100 percent of the time, don’t stress. College is stressful enough. Give yourself a break if you mess up. And enjoy college. You’re only this young once and you don’t want to remember college as a particularly stressful time of your life!

(sarah) #3

Thank you for the support! I do have a meal plan, which I have been using. I typically make my own breakfast and lunch, if eat an lunch. My dorm has a complete kitchen. When I eat in the cafeteria, it’s difficult. Especially avoiding the dessert table.

(Michelle) #5

I find it helpful to tell myself that there are certain foods I don’t eat. “Those desserts aren’t for me, but I will have a small square of dark chocolate when I get back to my dorm.” Or “I eat my burgers bunless. Bread isn’t for me.” Remind yourself that those foods make you feel ill and you’ll avoid them as if they’re food that you don’t like.

(sarah) #6