Im new to ketogenic

(Ray) #1

Hello every one here

Im glad to writing here…

Im big fan of fasting and running, i been years of eating carbs and running and i really would like try to fat adapted idea…

Im 165 lbs my tall is 6 feet

Im short distance runner i run 2 mile in 18 min lol i know its too bad

The thing bother me in carb that my weight jump up in carb loading… I would like to try depand on fat …

Will fat before training and race give me high energy?

One said if u go ketogenic and fast u can get 2 mile in 12 min or less is it possible?

Thanks

(LeeAnn Brooks) #2

First of all, have you started Keto yet, or just looking into it?

As someone new to Keto myself (6 weeks in), I can tell you about the beginning process and how it effects running.

There is an adaption phase you must go through. Even if you are in ketosis, the fat adaption phase can take 6-8 weeks. During that time, your performance WILL suffer. Though it tends to be less so for men than women. Still, I went from running 4miles 3-4 times a week pre Keto at a little over 10 min mile pace to BARELY being able to do a fast paced walk at 18 min mile pace for no more than 2 miles. It was awful. And I had stupidly signed up for a RunBet contest at the same time I started Keto, plus a 5k race I signed up for. Eventually (about 3.5 weeks in) I started to feel better, but it took some time to build back up my distance. Yesterday was my first 4 mile run since starting Keto. And honestly I’m not concerned about my pace anymore. I actually posted a thread yesterday about using 80/20 approach to training in which you slow way down 80% of the time and go all out 20%.

Anyway, I felt great running yesterday. I probably could have gone another half hour running easy but I didn’t have time.

I only have a small amount to lose. What drew me to Keto was the promise of extra endurance running as I want to try my first full marathon.