I'm Hungry

Hi All: So glad to have found you.

My title says it all! I am hungry. I am entering my 14th day of keto. So far I have found it relatively easy with the exception I am hungry on the days I work out - which is very cardio intensive.

I play tennis and often burn about 500-800 calories when I play 4-5 days a week. I have found that I must eat breakfast high in fat in order to give me sustained energy throughout my match - week one I had difficultly catching my breath, week two upped my fat which I found gave me energy to sustain my workouts but I did need to rest in the afternoon as I was tired - I figure due to the fact I am new to keto.

My calorie count for breakfast today was 681 calories which consisted of 7 grams of carbs, 61 grams of fat and 22 grams of protein. I took my blood ketone reading before breakfast this morning it was 1.5, after tennis is was 3.0.

I ate lunch 5 grams of carbs, 32 grams of fat and 35 grams of protein. 2 hours after lunch I am very hungry.

When I look at my macros for the day I am at 12/25 grams net carbs, 93/114 grams of fat and 58/81 grams of protein.

I am a 52 year old woman that has been pre-diabetic from the age 5, have dawn phenomenon, insulin resistance and metabolic syndrome. Fortunately due to my activity level I am only about 20-30 pounds overweight.

From what I understand I should not be hungry. I find the days I do not work out I am satiated and not thinking about eating, but the days I play tennis, I am famished mid afternoon and this coincides with a drop in energy. I try to keep my calorie count at 1400-1500 per day. Over the past week I have been keeping my macros at 5% net carbs, 75% fat and 20% protein give or take a percentage or 2.

Am I eating enough? What am I doing wrong to be hungry?