IF Before Adaption

(Jacob Wagner) #1

I am having trouble controlling my glucose levels unless I fast for 18+ hours. So, I am considering starting regular IF. However, I am not yet fat adapted.

Does anyone have advice for starting IF before adaption?

–Jacob

(Doodler for @KetoKailey) #2

Jacob, wishing you the best.

I’m fairly new to this WOE and IF happened to me naturally before my 2nd week ended. Keeping things simple is key for me.

(Vicki Stroud) #3

I am not fat adapted and am on my second day doing IF, It is surprisingly easy, and I feel better than I have in YEARS, so, I think it is a right fit for me, not sure about the whole not being fat adapted either, but, it is working for me. I am doing 20:4

(Ross) #4

It’s my understanding that the results are quite different if we IF pre/post adaptation.

Pre adaptation, if we fast, our body doesn’t have reasonable access to our bodyfat reserves and as a result our metabolic rate will slow down…IE it will make us fatter long term even if there is a short term loss. This is why the Biggest Looser contestants typ get fatter after they leave the show.

Post adaptation, the theory goes, our body has full access to fat reserves & thinks it has a near unlimited source of energy so the metabolic rate may even go up.

If you go on Keto / Banting / LCHF, chances are you’ll drop weight no matter what back to your “set weight” even without IF.

(Vicki Stroud) #5