I still feel fat

Anyone else experience this? I’ve been doing keto for weight loss since 10/2017, almost exactly 6 months to the day. I’ve lost 19% (50 lbs) of my body weight, to be at goal I need to lose another 6%, so I’m close, pretty damn close. But I still feel fat, honestly, as fat as I felt when I started this journey.

There are so many factors that tell me otherwise including the scale, measurements, having to buy new clothes, old clothes that I’d given-up ever fitting in again are fitting me, new belts, complements from friends/family/co-workers etc. But I still feel like that other version of me.

We have MANY mirrors in our home, in our master bath we have a 9/10 foot mirror that runs the length of our sinks/bathroom counter. It’s impossible to avoid it but I do, just like I used to it’s crazy, I don’t look into it unless I’m flossing or brushing my teeth and even then when brushing I walk away from the mirror.

Anyone experienced anything like this? What the hell is wrong with me, I should be celebrating not only the weight loss but how great I feel on keto.

Thanks in advance!

(Banting & Yudkin & Atkins & Eadeses & Cordain & Taubes & Volek & Naiman & Bikman ) #2

I’m not as far as you, being only about 4 months now, and only 13% of body weight, but Iget what you’re saying and feeling.

That said, I like to have pictures of back when I was at my full size, and keep some of the old clothes around (I haven’t actually bought new ones, I’m just cycling down through my closet) to keep an eye on how far I’ve come.

I view this as an aspect of negative self talk, and so it helps to have visual reminders of progress.

I have my badge picture for work that I can hold up to the mirror and see the changes in my face. It’s kind of important to have those before pictures and things.

(Liz ) #3

Oh yes, the brain takes WAY longer to catch up with the physical changes, I have found. I still suck in my gut to squeeze through spaces that are plenty big for me now lol.