I never realized how much I like Kerrygold butter

(Brian) #1

I have been buying Kerrygold butter for several months now. I like it. Normally, there is several pounds of it in the refrigerator and a stick of it in a butter dish that’s out on the kitchen counter. It’s a nice soft consistency at room temperature, good for spreading on stuff and good flavor.

A few weeks ago, the place where I usually get it only had two packages of it on the shelf, both of which were badly damaged, and I needed butter. I was not going to buy them with actual butter open to the air. Nope. And they’re the only store in town that sells it. So, I made the decision to buy some of the organic stuff I bought before I knew about Kerrygold.

DANG!! I never realized how much of a difference there was. The old stuff, despite being “organic”, was non-flavorful (hard to describe). It was also much stiffer at the same room temperature than the Kerrygold which was much more spreadable, quite noticeably so.

The flavor I get. But the difference in how spreadable it was at room temperature, that was a bit of a surprise. I wasn’t expecting that. Any idea why that would be? I don’t have the package anymore to look but I am pretty sure it was 100% butter.

New one
(Vladaar Malane) #2

Yes, my wife bought the expensive version that was grass fed butter from Costco, before we knew about the cheaper grassfed Aldi version. I love the taste of it in my fried eggs. Not of course that you need grassfed, but it does taste better.

(CharleyD) #3

Hopefully it’s the ratio of Omega3:Omega6 is closer to 1:1 with the Kerrygold?

IRISH COWS - the rainbows in Ireland are powerful!

…Despite so much cultural genocide, and the deforestation of the island by various empires, the grassfed Irish dairy community has a lot of heart in it.

Here’s a pic of a Belted Galloway - they’re a heritage breed that originated on the west side of southern Scotland but do well in Ireland. (This one’s a bull, but his Ma is a cow, haha).