How much vegetables should I be eating?

(Wendy Peterson) #1

I’m relatively new to keto and have been doing a lot of reading and listening to podcasts about how this is done. I get some conflicting information thought from Jimmy Moore saying in the book eats lots of veggies to the podcast saying you only need a side salad. How many servings of veggies (non starchy) should I be eating in a day?

(Jaidann) #2

I pretty much use up my carbs in a day on leafy greens - spinach, turnip greens, etc and also cauliflower, broccoli, brussel sprouts, asparagus … stuff like that. I tend to eat my veggies at dinner and not through the day so whatever I decide to eat with it I don’t go over 20 net carbs.

Hope that helps!

(eat more) #3

there’s no “rule” as long as you keep your carbs under your limit.
the zero carb folks don’t eat any.
i’ve read that some folks don’t count green leafy towards their carbs.
(not to confuse things)

i do eat some and count them towards my carbs.

You’ve just got to find your personal sweet spot. If you don’t like veggies there’s no need to choke them down. If you love veggies then you can definitely fit in a good amount, especially if you are someone limits carbs based on net count vs. total.
Then there’s the zero carb/carnivore option under which you would consume 0 vegetables, and many people do well with that.
I lovelovelove pan-roasted broccoli and/or cauliflower so I eat a lot of that.

(Wendy Peterson) #5

Thank you!!

(Guardian of the bacon) #6

0 to pretty much all of the leafy greens you want. I have yet to see documented proof of anyone getting fat from too many leafy greens.

The guidance provided by Dr. Atkins was for two cups of leafy green vegetables and one cup of salad vegetables like broccoli, cauliflower, or green beans at first. This still leave a few more grams available for any carbs in a bit of cheese, nuts, and cream.

i was eating three giant salads a day when i started. Just leave out the starchy veggies and carrots.