How much is too much?

(Marianne) #1

I’ve been zero carb since Feb., and loving it. For the past month or so, I seem to have an insatiable appetite. Generally, I eat OMAD and it’s usually one large piece of meat, or two smaller. I’d say at least a total of 16 oz. I notice sometimes I’ll get hungry during the day and will eat like three scrambled eggs with ghee, and that will hold me. Today, I was really hungry again, and this time made a small round steak (probably 8 oz.). I’ve never done that before - cooked another piece of meat before dinner. I’m just wondering if this is “normal.” I guess for me it is at the moment, because I’m experiencing it, however, I’m just wondering how much meat a lot of you eat on zero carb/carnivore. How many times a day are you eating?

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

Maybe the ‘problem’ is OMAD. If you’re doing it to keep insulin under control then I guess you just have to cope. Otherwise, why are you eating OMAD?

(Laurie) #3

For the first year, I ate less than a pound of meat (and/or the equivalent in eggs, etc.) in 2 meals. In some people’s opinion, this was not enough food/calories. But I didn’t want more.

Recently, I want to eat more, so I do. A bit more at each meal, and then some more food in the evening. So maybe a pound and a half. I think this is fine. Someday I might reconsider. But for now, I have no reason to restrict myself.

(Marianne) #4

I don’t really have a good answer, other than I guess it’s the “24 hour fasting” thing that I saw more on regular keto. It’s not about insulin control.

I didn’t like fasting on keto, and I guess I may not be suited to OMAD as carnivore.

(Marianne) #5