How bad is peanut butter WITH partially hydrogenated vegetable oil?

I hate pure peanut butter made with zero oil and sugar. I suspect it is the sugar I am missing and the oil adds no flavor effect but no brand makes peanut butter without oil but with sugar. It’s either oil and sugar or just peanuts and salt, no in between.

I am a keto veteran and ate regular and/or palm oil containing peanut butter almost every day for a year while staying in ketosis, gaining muscle and losing 35 pounds of fat, so I know the small amount of sugar does not negatively affect my progress.

I love regular peanut butter but am wary of the oils.

How bad are these oils on a ketogenic diet?

Also, what of palm oil? Is it better? I know that if palm oil is heated and cooled too many times it becomes bad for us to consume it and I wouldn’t put it past food manufacturers to heat and cool it a whole heck of a lot while processing it and then making it into peanut butter. So I’m wary of that stuff as well.

(Todd Allen) #2

partially hydrogenated oils = trans fats, the stuff many places are banning due to the health concerns.

(Damon Chance) #3

I am a peanut butter addict… here is what I do. I buy the peanut and salt version. Freshly ground or whatever. Then I pour out the separated oil and put an equal amount of melted coconut oil. I then add a bit of sweetener. Usually Pyure ore swerve.

Then I put stir it all up and put it in the fridge. The coconut oil sets it up really nice.

Currently I’m not keeping any in the house because it’s way to easy for me to shove 4 to 6 tbsp of it in my mouth before I realize it.

There’s little reason to buy jar peanut butter. It’s very easy to make at home. Or patronize a grocery store that has a self serve fresh ground butter machine.

My love of peanut butter has been supplanted by pecan butter.

(Chris) #5

Peanuts and salt should be the only ingredients.

(Sarah Herlihy) #6

Hi Fry