High-fat diet and depression?

(Cancer Fighting Ketovore :)) #1

So, I was sent this article…it talks about how high-fat diets can lead to depression. I didn’t see any mention of whether or not the diet also included high or low carbs…

Thoughts?

Okay, I am not a professional, and have no expertise on this matter, but it seems to me we have plenty of people with depression, on low fat diets, too.

(Cancer Fighting Ketovore :)) #3

Yeah, there is that. My family is just concerned.

Well, from the article, they source another article from the University of Glasgow, still haven’t seen a link to the actual study though. Maybe I missed it.

Now, in a new study led by the University of Glasgow in collaboration with the Gladstone Institutes, and published today in Translational Psychiatry, scientists have been able to demonstrate the links between the consumption of diets high in saturated fats that lead to obesity and the development of depression phenotypes. (emphasis added)

So it seems there’s more of a link between obesity and depression than just the fats we’re eating.

An image from the University of Glasgow article:

“We often use fatty food to comfort ourselves as it tastes really good, however in the long term, this is likely to affect one’s mood in a negative way. Of course, if you are feeling low, then to make yourself feel better you might treat yourself to more fatty foods, which then would consolidate negative feelings.

It just looks like a lot of carbs to me. They keep saying “fatty foods” but they’re not defining this very well. Unless this picture is the definition.

(Cancer Fighting Ketovore :)) #5

That’s what I was thinking too.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #6

From the study paper itself:

Obesity predominantly develops in response to increased consumption of energy-dense diets and a sedentary lifestyle . . .