High BP on keto

bloodpressure

Hi all,

Ive been doing keto since July 2021 and I started at 288 lbs (6’2 height) and am now down to 225 lbs and still going.

My goal weight is 200.

I just had some bloodwork done and I was happy to see I’m not longer prediabetic, all my other markers were on point except for my LDL which was slightly higher than the norm.

From what I understand this is normal while losing weight on keto.

However, I get super nervous when visiting my doc as I used to weigh 370 lbs and have been worried about my health since losing a bunch of that weight. My BP was 158/101, I know this is high, I’ve quit smoking weed as of Jan 1st, and I do not smoke anything else or drink alcohol or take other drugs.

I totally thought keto helps reduce blood pressure? I’ve just purchased a new machine so I can begin tracking my blood pressure from home. I do use salt, and supplement potassium and magnesium, but this is concerning me slightly.

Mind you, I’ve only recently picked up physical activity as I was sidelined for a few months (since august 2021) with a torn muscle in my behind (has been rough)

I’m a 32 year old male.

Any suggestions or any direction I could take to help bring this number down?

Based on the doc’s numbers, I have a 0.4% chance to develop heart disease and a 1% chance to drop dead of a heart related issue in 10 years. That being said, I’m sure those numbers were way higher when I was an inactive, carb and sugar addicted 370 lbs person.

Also, the nerve on that man, instead of giving a pat on the back for dropping 145 lbs in the last 4 years, he didn’t even remember I was morbidly obese and scolded me for my slightly higher LDL and then told me to stop eating fat… -.-

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2