Hi - new to OMAD and new to Keto Diet : )

omad

(icky) #1

Hi :grinning:

I’ve been fasting for 10 years, 3-4 times per year for anything between 1 and 3 weeks at a time.

This has now finally brought me to a Keto Diet, which I’m now on my 4th day of (doing okay so far).

As I adore fasting and as I really dislike cooking/ preparing meals, I’m thinking that OMAD sounds like my personal best bet re getting a Keto Diet to work for me.

Are there any specific things I need to think of re the combination OMAD & Keto?
Like, does the one meal need to be huuuge? Haha… To cover the whole day’s fat and protein needs? Or do you just work out what meal size works for you and go with that?

Thanks for your ideas! : )

(Vladaar Malane) #2

Hi there, I did OMAD for awhile on weekdays, and 2 meals on weekends to eat with family. I think what is important with OMAD is try to keep the meals balanced nutrition-wise as that is the only food your taking in. Watch your PH/acid level balance as well.

It’s a great fast method though, I think I prefer just skipping breakfast and eating lunch and dinner.

(icky) #3

Yeah, I’m thinking OMAD mainly for weekdays so that I don’t have to deal with work and food preparation.

Also, if it turns into OAAHMAD (one and a half meals a day) then I’m not too fussed either. : )

I just think that if I have to face the prospect of preparing myself 3 keto meals per day then a) it’s gonna drive me nuts and b) it will seriously jepoardise my success re staying keto long-term.

So I need an OMAD (or nearly OMAD) approach at least for weekdays, so that it feels workable for me.

(icky) #4

Oh - another question: Is OMAD a viable long-term approach?

I’m not looking to lose any weight.

I’m doing this for health reasons (insulin).

If I’m doing OMAD 5 days per week, and eating a good, big, healthy meal - can I hold my weight?

Or is OMAD only used to lose weight?