Hey I'm Having a Hard Time Hitting My Daily Fat Intake

conversationstarters
keto
newbies
fat

(Corry) #1

Hello I’m pretty new to actually doing a keto diet but I have done at least a few months worth of research before starting the only problem I’m running into is that I can’t for the life of me seem to hit my daily fat (in grams) intake for the day.

(Andrew Anderson) #2

I do better when I try to make it not feel like counting. First focus on carb reduction, count those! Add real butter, or hollandaise sauce to everything! I had a hard time with fat early on and used fat bombs or bpc to help increase fat.

(Corry) #3

My daily net carbs are down below 30 and i hit my protein goal for today but I’m off by 136g of fat. I try and use olive oil to cook and get creamy dressings for lunch and cheese for breakfast.

(Carpe salata!) #4

Do you have scrambled eggs? You could dump 50g butter in there no problem … yum.

Sometimes I take a tablespoon of coconut oil straight up … yum.

You’ll get the program before long. :slight_smile:

(Barbara Greenwood) #5

The guideline is keep the carbs low, protein moderate and fat to satiety. Rather than aim for a specific amount of fat, you eat enough so that you are fully satisfied at meal times. Personally I know I’ve achieved that because the urge to snack goes away.

So, key question is - are you constantly hungry? If yes, then by all means find ways to add fat. But if you’re not, then you’re doing just fine as you are.

(Dude Man) #6

When I get hungry I drink olive oil. And save my main meal for the brunch of the day.

(Nick Morales) #7

What macro are you trying to hit in a day? Starting out, if you need to add more protein to hit your fat then go ahead.