HELP! Not making progress... GAINING weight

(Samantha Bullock) #1

Hello Keto Pals,

I have been doing keto for 3 months. I lost weight initially (4ilbs with goal of 15ilbs) and was thrilled! Then it all started coming back and now I am heaviest than then I started.

I contacted a Keto dietitian who states I was not eating enough. i followed her advise and increased my calories from 1400 to 16-1800 for 2 weeks. I gained another 2 ilbs. I talked with her again and she suggested I intake more like 18-2000 calories.

This is very hard for me because I have kept my intake to 12-1400 for YEARS. So the idea of eating 2000 calories when I am already way above my goal is killing me.

I have done this for another 2 weeks and gained another 2 ilbs. I understand that I have put myself into “starvation mode” and needing to transition out of it. I am having a hard time trusting this because I have been eating more for a month with nothing but weight gain. I am trying to be patient but its very hard to see the scale at numbers I have never seen that high!

Weight trend since started:

Most recent intake:

Other info:
-Im Vegetarian: Should I start eating meat to help with intake?
-I do HIT training 2 days and Run 6 miles 2 days per week: should I focus more on weight training and less cardio?
-I can tell I am not fitting in my clothes anymore.
-I get 5-7 hrs of sleep a night
-I am 5"7’ and now 155ilbs.

Maybe try Intermittent fasting?
Has anyone else been in this position and can offer an estimate of how long before my body adjusts?
Or at what point should I say, screw this, and decrease my calories again?

I truly appreciate your time in reading this and any words of advice!

Samantha :slight_smile:

(Allie) #2

Your body needs to heal from the years of metabolic damage caused by chronic calorie restriction, give it time, focus on getting healthy rather than weight loss, and once your health is on track, weight loss will follow.