Help: Exhausted 2 months into Keto!

(Vanessa) #1

Hi there - I am relatively new to keto and about 2 months in so far. I started the diet after having my first baby (he’s 5 months old now) and needing to get back into shape. I started the diet at 124 pounds and I’m currently at 115 - I need to lose about 7 or 8 more pounds to get to my pre-pregnancy weight as I’m 5’1 and Was generally small before (have always been).

When I started, I dropped some water weight in the first week and then was mapping out roughly 1300 calories a day with 25g net carbs, 65g protein and 95g fat. At these numbers I seemed to get stuck and just maintain my weight until I lowered calories to 1200 with carbs to 20g, protein 60g and fat 95g. I have seen my weight start to slowly go down again with these macros.

The thing is, I’m tired ALL the time! I drink electrolytes every day, make sure I have enough water and veggies etc and try to avoid most Keto snacks in general. I cook a lot of my meals and track everything down to the gram consistently is an app.

I know my metabolism slowed down during my pregnancy because I couldn’t work out like I did before but right now even taking a walk feels exhausting.

Does anyone have any recos?? I can’t figure out why I am so tired and definitely haven’t experienced any of this new found energy I keep reading about. My issue is if I increase calories I stop losing weight and seem to either maintain or gain again. What I’d really like to do is just get the 7 pounds off and then transition to more of a paleo diet with less fat. Would also like to find the time to work out but just don’t have the energy right now.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

The good news: it will pass, just stick with it.