Hello newbie here 9 weeks in ketosis

(Van Eternal) #1

Hi everyone,

I’ve been in ketosis for about 9 weeks now and decided to move away from the urine strip and bought myself a blood ketone meter and realised that my ketones after waking up are around 2.3 mmol, with sugar levels of about 3,9 mmo/l. However between my lunch and dinner I usually have a 4-5 hour gap (depending how hungry i am) and i realised that my ketones spiked up to 5.6 mmo/l, whilst sugar levels stayed the same. Is this normal ?

Another worrying thing that goes through my mind is ketoacidosis possible with low sugar levels?

I am currently eating about : 25-30 g carbs , 70 g of protein and about 250 -280 g of fat daily.

Please let me know if you experienced something similar

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

You are doing fine, don’t worry. Nutritional ketosis typically runs from about 1.0 to 5-ish, but I have heard of people with ketone levels a bit over 10.0. Ketoacidosis isn’t even a realistic threat until you reach 10.0, and even then it’s usually more like 20.0 when the problems start. As long as you are not a Type I diabetic, or so far advanced in Type II that your pancreas is no longer producing insulin, you are fine. As long as your pancreas is still producing even a small amount of insulin, that is sufficient to keep ketogenesis in check and the pH of your blood in balance.

It is actually possible to slip into ketoacidosis with a low serum glucose, but it is very rare. Euglycaemic ketoacidosis, as they call it, can happen to women who are either pregnant or lactating, and who attempt to fast. Pregnant or lactating women should not fast. Euglycaemic ketoacidosis can also be caused by taking an SGLT2 inhibitor, but if you are taking such a drug, your doctor should be aware of the risk and be monitoring you closely.

In any event, if you are concerned by your ketone levels, increasing your protein a bit ought to cause them to drop.

(Van Eternal) #3