Hello! I'm new to keto and im confused

Hi guys! (google translate warning).

So im now 8 days into my keto adventure, and i’ve read a lot and watched a bunch of youtube videos on keto. But still i have questions… So i seek advice from you guys!

I’m 6’1, 320lb. Do i really need to eat so much fat in my diet? All this talk of macros and this and that amount of protein and fat is way to complicated for me.

My goal is to lose 70-80lb before summer.

I do not own a food scale, so i get that it’s a bit of guesswork here.

So if anyone could be so kind and tell me if im eating somewhat correct, i’d be greatful!

Breakfast: 2 hardboiled eggs and 2 strips of bacon.

Dinner: Piece of salmon or meatballs(ground chicken+bacon made into balls, tastes so good btw) with 1/2 avocado, cauliflower mash with some butter and spinach/broccoli.

And that’s about it.

I also fast 15 hours and drink only sparkling water when i fast, and sometimes diet soda or sparkling water with zero calorie juice consentrate in it outside fasting hours.

Am i on the right track here at all?

(less is more, more or less) #3

To get started, read this firstly: http://pwop.com/download/TheKetogenicDietInANutshell.pdf Carl and Richard wrote it and will give you better grounding to get started.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

The basic idea is to keep your carbohydrate intake low enough to keep your insulin secretion low enough for you to be able to metabolize your excess stored fat (insulin is the fat-storage hormone). Everyone’s level of what constitutes “too much carbohydrate” is different, but we recommend 20 g/day because that is a level that will work for virtually everyone.